Home Public Health Australia Awards Scholarships 2022

Australia Awards Scholarships are long-term development awards funded by the Australian Government’s Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. The study and research opportunities provided through Australia Awards Scholarships develop the skills and knowledge of individuals to drive change and contribute to development.

Who can apply

Australia Awards Scholarship applications are accepted from individuals who are citizens of participating countries and meet eligibility criteria specific to their country. In South Asia, Australia Awards Scholarships are open to suitably qualified nationals of Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Women, people with disability and individuals from traditionally marginalised groups are encouraged to apply.


An Australia Awards Scholarship provides you with the opportunity to gain an internationally recognised qualification from an Australian institution. It includes all the necessary support and funding to complete your study.

Your career will benefit from new knowledge, leadership skills and the links you create both in Australia and through the Australia Global Alumni network. On your return home, you can make a vital contribution to the social and economic development of Nepal.

The application process is transparent and competitive, providing equal opportunity to all eligible applicants, regardless of gender, ethnicity or disability.

Applications for Australia Awards Scholarships commencing in 2022 are now open and will close 30 April 2021.

Australia Awards Scholarships for Nepal will be offered to undertake Master’s degree study programs in the priority development sectors of Economic Development, Education, Health, Governance, Gender Equality, Disability and Social Inclusion, and Water Resource Management.

Level of study

Australia Awards Scholarships provide citizens of Nepal with the opportunity to obtain a qualification at an Australian tertiary institution. Scholarships will be offered for master’s degree programs (by coursework or research) for study commencing in 2022.

English language requirements

To be eligible for an Australia Awards Scholarship, you must meet certain standards in English language proficiency, with the results valid as at 1 January 2022. At minimum, you must have:

  • an IELTS (Academic) overall score of at least 6.5 with no band less than 6.0; or
  • a TOEFL internet based (iBT) score of at least 84, with a minimum of 21 in all sub-tests; or
  • a PTE (Academic) overall score of 58 with no communicative skill score less than 50.

Women, people with disability, members of traditionally marginalised groups and nominated public servants will be considered for eligibility with an IELTS (Academic) overall score of 6.0 or above (with no individual band less than 5.5) or an equivalent TOEFL (iBT) or PTE (Academic) test score. However, if offered an Australia Awards Scholarship, these applicants must meet the English language requirements of their course.

Australia Awards benefits
Australia Awards Scholarships are offered for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program specified by the Australian education institution, including any preparatory training.

Scholarship recipients will receive the following entitlements:
• return air travel
• a one-off establishment allowance on arrival
• full tuition fees
• contribution to living expenses
• introductory academic program
• overseas student health cover for the duration of the Scholarship
• supplementary academic support
• fieldwork allowance for research students and those undertaking a master’s degree by coursework that has a compulsory fieldwork component.

Qualifications and work experience

To be eligible, applicants must have the following qualifications and work experience:

  • a four-year bachelor’s degree with a minimum of three years’ relevant full-time work experience earned after the bachelor’s degree; or
  • a three-year bachelor’s degree with at least a oneyear master’s degree with a minimum of three years’ relevant full-time work experience earned after the bachelor’s degree; or
  • a two-year bachelor’s degree with at least a two-year master’s degree with a minimum of three years’ relevant full time work experience earned after the bachelor’s degree. Scholarships will not be available for courses of study in Australia where the applicant has already achieved a qualification that is deemed to be equivalent to the Australian qualification.

Australia Awards applicants must meet all eligibility requirements, including citizenship and residency requirements, detailed in the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook, available at:

For further information, contact the Australia Awards office in Nepal:
+977 1 4002614

Applications for Australia Awards Scholarships now close on 31 May 2021. 

Latest Posts

Thanks for visiting us.
Disclaimer: The resources, documents, guidelines, and information on this blog have been collected from various sources and are intended for informational purposes only. Information published on or through this website and affiliated social media channels does not represent the intention, plan, or strategies of an organization that the initiator is associated with in a professional or personal capacity, unless explicitly indicated.
If you have any complaints, information, or suggestions about the content published on Public Health Update, please feel free to contact us at blog.publichealthupdate@gmail.com.

You may also like

Public Health Update (Sagun’s Blog) is a popular public health portal in Nepal. Thousands of health professionals are connected with Public Health Update to get up-to-date public health updates, search for jobs, and explore opportunities.
#1 Public Health Blog for sharing Job opportunities and updates in Nepal

”Public Health Information For All”
– Sagun Paudel, Founder


Contact: blog.publichealthupdate@gmail.com

Public Health Initiative, A Registered Non-profit organization – All Right Reserved. 2011-2023. Contact us.